Posted in China, Life

Once Upon a Happily Ever After

Dress in your best, ladies!

Generally, the onset of spring is known as the commencement of wedding season, which is concentrated from April to July.

Over the past 8 years, I have been to nearly 100 weddings (no joke).  It got to the point that I had 2 or 3 weddings every month, and my dad once jokingly asked me when my second job became to attend weddings. I told him I go for the chance to partake in the day’s happiness and blessings, but mostly because of wedding cake. Who can pass up free cake?

I'm not a glutton, I swear

I have always felt blessed to be considered important/close enough that people would wish me present on one of the biggest days of their lives, but it was difficult driving to the locations, sitting and waiting for the happy couple (and families) who were generally late (I’ve  yet to be at a wedding where everything started on time), eating food that sometimes wasn’t that great, and especially because I didn’t always get that cake I so wanted (sigh). But looking back, I feel incredibly lucky because I have had experiences that are completely unique…  I should write a book and have it adapted into a movie (curse you, ever rom-com ever made… curse you all).

No table I'm at could ever be the loser table

I have been to weddings of all religions and cultures; the diversity of customs, (religious and cultural) rituals, food, and culture at every event was amazing, and I am so grateful for every single one of those experiences. With all of that being said, I find it hilarious that with all my big plans of travel and doing good in this world, what’s bringing me to China is a wedding 🙂

The past year or so has definitely slowed down as most of my friends are married, but the younger generation is starting to step up. So to all you current and soon to be wedded partners out there, I wish you the best of the best in your futures, and kindly ask you to make sure that I get a piece of cake.

P.S. My dream is to attend a wedding this cool:

Somebody please do this!
Author:

Enjoy my little descriptions of life and experiences, and feel free to leave any comments and or suggestions!

4 thoughts on “Once Upon a Happily Ever After

Go ahead and say it

