Posted in Life

You eat like a girl!

In a previous post, I mentioned the strange food combinations I enjoy eating. I’ve never felt myself to be particularly girly in most senses. I was a huge tomboy when I was little, and there’s never a time where I don’t contemplate climbing trees (my mom didn’t call me her little monkey for nothing!), but apparently I’m a lot girlier than I knew.

We all have our fun stories of things we’ve done in college. One thing my friends and I used to do was go out to IHOP (International House of Pancakes) at crazy hours of the night and just eat and talk and exchange life stories with the crazy waiter we’d always, ALWAYS, get. Even then, I got a lot of teasing for how I would eat my pancakes (for the record, my order 99% of the time in IHOP is three eggs and three pancakes, and occasionally I’ll throw in the hash browns). Apparently I’m super dainty and ladylike in how I pour my syrup, cut my pancakes, and eat them. I didn’t realize until one day I was with a large group and found them all focused on my eating, and when I took a bite, one girl turned triumphantly to the other and exclaimed, “see! I told you she eats like an aristocrat!” To this day, I have no idea what that means, but a compliment is a compliment so I’ll take it!

Shuyan told me that the ‘fashion’ right now in China is for everyone to carry around their own set of chopsticks for use in restaurants and the like. I personally love this because I can be sure I know where they have been! Luckily for me, she gave me two pairs before returning to China and even taught me the Chinese method of eating soup! I can’t wait to put my skills to the test 🙂

 

P.S. I wonder if I should bring an extra set of utensils with me just in case…

Author:

Enjoy my little descriptions of life and experiences, and feel free to leave any comments and or suggestions!

Go ahead and say it

