Posted in China

Smarty Pants

I like to think of myself an academic person.

Both my Masters and my Bachelors are in science fields, and I’ve always regretted that being invested in science left me with little to no time to pursue any other interests. I did get the opportunity my senior year to take Intro to Acting (which was one of the lousiest classes I’ve ever taken), Public Speaking (the most boring class I’ve ever taken), and a History class (I won’t specify the era or location, but it was one of the best and most interesting classes I took in college).

I have always loved history and learning about other cultures, countries, religions… everything. Languages also have a big appeal to me. I currently fluently speak 2.5 (don’t judge me for speaking half of a language fluently) and continue to work on that remaining half, and I have a list of other languages I’d like to learn.

One thing that surprised me recently is that in all my studies and research of all cultures and eras of the world, I am really shamefully ignorant of Asian history. I know a few random facts that I sometimes use on my students, but I have so much that I am unaware of.

As I learn more about the region and China in specific, I am amazed at all I did not take the time to learn. There is a wealth of knowledge and such that I as an American have not learned, as our schools focus only on the Western aspect of things… and I can’t wait to learn more. Wish me luck!

P.S. Knowing another language generally guarantees a pretty fabulous A+ ;):

Author:

I'm a female living near Atlanta, GA. I never thought my life would be interesting enough for a blog, but a trip to China was reason enough to start one :) Enjoy my little descriptions of life and experiences, and feel free to leave any comments and or suggestions!

5 thoughts on “Smarty Pants

  1. so true about our schools really only focusing on western world history. i don’t read a lot of books and am pretty ignorant about history myself, but i would recommend reading Guns, Germs, and Steel (for a scientific look at all of human history around the world – disclaimer: I never finished this book) and A World Without Islam (book I’m currently reading that gives a somewhat neutral perspective take on the history of Islam throughout the world leading up all the way to about last year – it’s intent is not to tell the history but rather to point out the author’s belief that religion plays a very limited role in shaping struggles between peoples, but he ends up explaining a lot of Islamic history from a unique ‘3rd party bystander’ perspective)

Go ahead and say it

