Posted in Life

Teaching for fun

A while ago I posted about being a high school and middle school substitute teacher. While I have not subbed at a middle school more than once, I’ve subbed multiple times at the high schools and things have been awesome.

No joke: when I walk into the schools, I get mobbed by students who excitedly ask me who I’m in for that day. The groan and complain when they find out it’s not one of their teachers, and ask me why I haven’t subbed for their classes yet (seriously guys, I can’t make your teacher get sick 🙂 )

So far, it’s been great! I love that the kids feel connected to me and that I can bring them to life for those 55 minutes. Here are some of the things that have been said/happened to me since my last posts (note that the schools are mostly white, but have a good Hispanic, Black, and Indo/Pak population). What’s been really fun is that as a Muslim woman who wears a hijab, a veil, the kids just accept me without question. I get curious people asking me about what it’s like to work in the public school system while covering, and I can honestly say that I’ve been having a fabulous time.

Enjoy!

1. “Miss S, you is swole.”

2. “Damn, Miss S, you are so gangsta!”

3. “Did you see what she’s wearing? She’s got swag.”

4. “OMG she used ‘legit’ in conversation!! She’s the coolest sub ever!

5. “Miss S, where are you from?” Me: “Last I checked.. Earth.” (cue the crazy laughter)

6. “Miss S, for real, where are you from? We can’t decide if you’re black, white, Chinese,  Mexican, Half black half white,..” (these guesses went on for a while).

7. A student asked me if it would be okay to put white-out on his arm. I assured him that it would be perfectly fine, but to have fun picking it out of his arm hair later. He put down the white-out after laughing 🙂

8. When the bell rang, a student bowed to me before he left.. much to my confusion.

9. “Man, Miss S is so cool because she knows how to talk to us.”

10. “Miss S, that week when you subbed one day and taught us is the only time I’ve ever made an A in math. You have to come back!”

11. “Miss S, I never understood what we were doing in class before you came!”

12. “How does she hear everything we’re saying?”

13. “Miss S, how do you always know when we’re texting?” Me: “I used to teach in a college setting. You guys aren’t going to be better at hiding it than college students.”

14. “How does she know about EVERYTHING?!” (We were discussing Homer’s epic poems The Odyssey and The Iliad and I was giving them talking points for their English classes.)

15. While handing out a test, a student said “gracias,” and I replied with “de nada.” He got really excited and starting speaking to me in Spanish, and I answered with the few words I could before telling him I really wasn’t fluent in Spanish. The Hispanic students were shocked and said “but your accent was perfect!!!” Sorry! I’ll definitely put Spanish on my language-to-learn list (currently have 5 on there).

16. (when seeing me at the library) “Are you the cool sub we’ve been hearing about??”

17. (again, at the library) “Miss S!!! Can you help me with this? I understood what you taught, but not when my teacher went to the next part!”

18. Student 1: “Miss S, I’m so glad you’re not a fan of Twilight.” Student 2: “She doesn’t like Twilight?? I thought she was cool!” (hahaha not too sad to lose that fan 😉 On the plus side, I became the hero for the guys in the class. )

19. “Miss S, there’s no way you’re older than 21.” Bless you, child!

Those are some of the ones I can think of 🙂 I’ll try to add more as they come!

Author:

Enjoy my little descriptions of life and experiences, and feel free to leave any comments and or suggestions!

3 thoughts on “Teaching for fun

  1. Woooww! You’re definitely a cool teacher I will have to say Ms. S!!
    Lol! Awesome job. What school was this at if you don’t mind me asking teacher?
    Lol.
    Keep up the good work girl!

Go ahead and say it

