Posted in Life

If you ever thought shoes don’t matter, just ask Dorothy and Cinderella and they’ll set you straight ;)

“Give a girl the right shoes, and she can conquer the world”

-Marilyn Monroe

The ruby slippers in The Wizard of Oz are quite possibly the most famous shoes, ever. The entire film revolves around the ownership of the shoes (and I’ve always wondered who got to keep them when she went back to Kansas!!) and it is revealed at the end how powerful the shoes truly are (there’s no place like home, there’s no place like home, there’s no place like home). Now I don’t consider myself to be a girly girl, but even I will admit that I love me some shoes.

I don’t mean to advertise for Walmart, but it’s a funny commercial 🙂

Several of my private students are baseball players, and have a collection of shoes that they use for daily wear, practice, and games, depending on the weather. Of course, as growing teens, they’ve outgrown several pairs. During a session a few weeks ago, I was leaving the house and stumbled upon a giant pair of shoes (I think they were size 12.. this kid is only 15 and is already 6’1) and after we all laughed at my near fall, his dad showed me the enormous collection of sneakers that my student has…. just downstairs. Seriously, this boy had more sneakers than I had shoes, and when I mentioned this to his father, he laughed even harder and said that there was a problem when a man has more shoes than any woman.

Now I know that not all women are into shoes, much like all men are not averse to shoes. My father and brother each have only two or three pairs, and they are perfectly satisfied with those numbers. I don’t buy shoes that often, but I will admit to splurging on an especially nice pair around my birthday. This past year I bought myself some yellow wedges, the year before some nude platform pumps, the year before some silver strappy sandals.. all good stuff that I do wear from time to time.

While at a wedding a few weeks ago (yes, wedding season has already begun) a young lady told me that she only has regular shoes and then a silver and gold to wear to weddings, but then confessed that she had several silver and several gold to go with whatever she was wearing! I tell you, we women are amazing.

I thought about taking a picture of all of my shoes to include in this blog, but then the sheer number overwhelmed me. I would have never thought I had that many pairs, but to be fair, I am very consistent and wear my shoes for years before they wear out (you can ask my mom; I take good care of my shoes!).

In the end, the moral of the story is to take care of what you have so you don’t have to keep adding or replacing it. Oh, and that too much of a good thing is wonderful 😉

Author:

Enjoy my little descriptions of life and experiences, and feel free to leave any comments and or suggestions!

2 thoughts on “If you ever thought shoes don’t matter, just ask Dorothy and Cinderella and they’ll set you straight ;)

Go ahead and say it

