Posted in Life

If I’m asleep, don’t wake me up

And it is He Who makes the night a covering for you, and the sleep (as) a repose, and makes the day (as it were) a resurrection.

-The Holy Quran, 25:47, Yusuf Ali Translation

How often do we actually think of sleep? Sure, the thought may be in our minds throughout the day (I can’t wait to get home and sleep, I’m so sleeping early today, etc), but how often do we really appreciate it?

I’ve always had trouble sleeping, whether it be falling asleep, staying asleep, or waking up. At times, I don’t need an alarm clock; I can wake up on my own, unassisted, at any time I want in the morning. However, that doesn’t mean that I’ll stay awake, and it’s not something I can do over long periods of time. On the other hand, it is very difficult for me to fall asleep. My family has been blessed with the ability to fall asleep within minutes, whereas I can’t ever remember falling asleep so quickly. True, I probably wouldn’t remember anyway, but that’s besides the point 🙂

There are so many examples of writers and historic figures describing sleep and its benefits. Shakespeare included references to sleep in nearly all of his plays, as well as some of his sonnets.

O sleep, O gentle sleep,
Nature’s soft nurse, how have I frighted thee,
That thou no more wilt weigh my eyelids down
And steep my sense in forgetfulness?
William Shakespeare, Henry IV, Part I (3.1.7-16)

We are such stuff
As dreams are made on, and our little life 
Is rounded with a sleep.
William Shakespeare, The Tempest (4.1.168-170)

Other quotes that I like include:

As a well-spent day brings happy sleep, so a life well spent brings happy death.
Leonardo da Vinci

But I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep, and miles to go before I sleep.
Robert Frost

 I look upon death to be as necessary to our constitution as sleep. We shall rise refreshed in the morning.
Benjamin Franklin

There was never a child so lovely but his mother was glad to get him to sleep.
Ralph Waldo Emerson

 Sleep is amazing, and it has rights over us. Honestly, there really is nothing else so refreshing in this world as a nice long nap. I think it’s time I paid my dues..  here’s hoping I’ll be able to get in those 8 hours tonight 🙂

 

Author:

Enjoy my little descriptions of life and experiences, and feel free to leave any comments and or suggestions!

2 thoughts on “If I’m asleep, don’t wake me up

  1. I suffered from insomnia for years when I was in university. Sometimes going 3-4 days without any sleep…..and then finally crashing. It was very unhealthy. But as I got older (not that I’m old mind you) I’ve gotten so I sleep well.

    1. I’ve been hoping that my sleep schedule would be better as I got ‘older,’ but so far nothing has changed. I still will take naps once a month or so that last for 6 hours, but I really need to force myself to get into bed at a decent time 🙂

Go ahead and say it

