Posted in Life

“Tea for two, and two for tea”

Definite bonus points if you’re familiar with any version of that song 🙂

Come, let us have some tea and continue to talk about happy things.
Chaim Potok

I was tutoring a young lady in math this week when her grandmother came into the room and offered me a plate of fresh home-baked cookies. Naturally, I was delighted (who wouldn’t be; they were cookies!), and immediately started eating one of the still warm cookies. And yet, as I chewed, I couldn’t help but feel like something was missing.

Tea, though ridiculed by those who are naturally coarse in their nervous sensibilities will always be the favorite beverage of the intellectual.
Thomas de Quincey

Don’t get me wrong; the cookies were delicious. They were an Arab style cookie, stuffed with date paste and topped with a little bit of fennel, but still, something was missing. I was halfway through the cookie before it hit me: I needed a cup of tea!!

The scattered tea goes with the leaves and every day a sunset dies.
William Faulkner

Now I don’t know when I became someone who craves tea while eating sweets, but I’ve noticed lately that dessert just doesn’t taste right unless accompanied by a cup. My dad will be so proud of me.. I’m finally becoming more like him 😉

Tea is naught but this: first you heat the water, then you make the tea. Then you drink it properly. That is all you need to know.
Sen Rikyu

So the next time you’re eating your dessert and feel like it’s not sweet enough, too sweet, or just right, remember to add a cup of tea to make it perfect 🙂

P.S. The internet is full of “Mr. T drinking tea” images, so enjoy 🙂

Author:

Enjoy my little descriptions of life and experiences, and feel free to leave any comments and or suggestions!

2 thoughts on ““Tea for two, and two for tea”

Go ahead and say it

