Posted in Life

But I digress…

Over the last few weeks, I’ve been enjoying the bounties present in Ramadan: lots of good food and sweets, seeing people I haven’t seen since last year, having the most philosophical discussions with random people, and laughing at many things kids say when grouped together. I will never understand how one kid can be so calm and quiet, and then when put with several others, can become and running, screaming, never-ending ball of energy. It’s awesome 🙂

I remember when I was little how mischievous I could be. I was generally a good kid (I promise; ask my mom!) but I know I definitely gave my parents and any and all present adults the occasional heart attack. I’ve always been a bit of a tom-boy (I’ve been assured that I will grow out of this… yeah, right) and have loved to do all sorts of ‘reckless’ and ‘dangerous’ things. There was never a tree I couldn’t climb, a trick I wouldn’t attempt with my bike, a sport I wouldn’t play, or a chance to prove my dominance that I would pass up. Now I wasn’t a bully at all, but every kid at some point has to defend themselves. Let’s just say that I was not one to mess with 🙂

As I look at the kids in my current community, I am struck by the differences of growing up nowadays versus “insert number” of years ago. I was outside all of the time, and it was a punishment to have to stay indoors. Now, most kids can’t stand going out (although for some this is due to allergies… there were never as many kids with allergies when I was little) and feel that it is a punishment to be away from whatever video game or other electronic device has struck their fancy. I do wish parents would push their children a bit more to be outside, but I’m sure every generation feels the same. “When I was your age..!” stories will always be popular, and it amuses me that I’ve reached the level where I can do the same!

Enough with the melancholy. Enjoy some pictures (I can’t believe how ridiculously easy it was to find pictures for this post) and feel free to share 🙂

Author:

Enjoy my little descriptions of life and experiences, and feel free to leave any comments and or suggestions!

Go ahead and say it

