Posted in Life

Biology is the only science where multiplication is the same as division

If you understand that joke, you’re a scientist. If you didn’t, then think about cell division 🙂

When I was younger, the last thing I ever expected was to go into science. My dream was to be a lawyer, fully supported by my parents as I was one of the most argumentative children I have known. I was mostly a decent kid, but I did have my mischievous side. I would argue, pretending I was in a courtroom, and in typical lawyer fashion, would continue arguing even if I knew I was wrong. One fabulous memory I have is arguing over my age with my mom in the laundry room saying that I must be a year older as I was 1 when I was born. This argument went on even after I realized that I was illogical… but then in my trip to China in December 2011 I learned that the Chinese are considered to be 1 year old at birth due to the time spent in the womb, so I can now feel some vindication 😉

Getting into science has led to some of the best and worst times of my life. I was a chemistry major (one out of three in my year!) in undergrad, and those girls remain good friends of mine due to the horrors we went through, especially in our junior year. Out of all of us, I’m the only one who continued in science, getting my Masters in microbiology. Regardless, we all survived and have made it out into the real world!

Science isn’t easy. It’s a challenge that will force you to think and push past the boundaries of what you know into what may be. I remember intially being so confused at the difference in the sizes of one celled organisms and atoms (if it’s one cell, it *must* be the same size of an atom!) and being afraid to ask about it. I remember wondering why water didn’t boil at 100F if it boiled at 100C (and seriously, why are we one of two countries in the world still not on the metric system? The SI makes so much more sense), if the moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie is that amore?, why our skin didn’t absorb the chloroplasts from plants we ate so we could undergo photosynthesis and eliminate the need for food, why animal cloning resulted in such small animals, etc etc etc! My dad is fond of remarking how I always answer questions with questions and have questions over a simple request, but it’s a trait (hahaha, I’m funny) that has definitely aided me in my scientific endeavors. Science is a challenge, and I’ve loved every project I’ve been on. Here’s hoping I’ll find a new one soon! Keep me in your prayers 🙂

Author:

I'm a female living near Atlanta, GA. I never thought my life would be interesting enough for a blog, but a trip to China was reason enough to start one :) Enjoy my little descriptions of life and experiences, and feel free to leave any comments and or suggestions!

4 thoughts on “Biology is the only science where multiplication is the same as division

  1. How science makes you think is what I love about it…the horrors you have to go through along the way is why I didn’t stick with it…I’m not completely removed, though 🙂

  2. Generally I do not read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, quite great article.

Go ahead and say it

