Posted in Life

Searching for my dream

“All that we see or seem is but a dream within a dream.”

Edgar Allen Poe

It has been a long time since my last post! I’d apologize for my absence, but I wasn’t feeling any inspiration so it’s probably a good thing that I didn’t write.

“People think dreams aren’t real just because they aren’t made of matter, of particles. Dreams are real. But they are made of viewpoints, of images, of memories and puns and lost hopes.”

Neil Gaiman

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about dreams and the roles they play in our lives. Disney and Hollywood tend to give us the idea that if a person dreams hard enough that whatever they wish for will come true. 

“I find out a lot about myself by sleeping. Dreams, they are who I am when I’m too tired to be me.”

Jarod Kintz- This Book is Not For Sale

As someone who dreams quite a bit, this idea has always seemed strange and yet fascinating at the same time. Want something and it’ll eventually come to you? Sounds fabulous! What people often fail to mention is that there is so much work involved in pursuing dreams, and that despite all of that, sometimes they do not come true. So what happens when the dream is forced to change?

“Hope is a waking dream”

Aristotle

I’ve had a number of dreams that didn’t come true, but I’ve also had several that I didn’t know I wanted come true. Life is a balance, and it’s important to keep things in perspective. Faith and religion give meaning to life, even more so than dreams. Having something to turn to every day is what I believe has truly kept me sane. Thank goodness for brevity in life 🙂

Author:

I'm a female living near Atlanta, GA. I never thought my life would be interesting enough for a blog, but a trip to China was reason enough to start one :) Enjoy my little descriptions of life and experiences, and feel free to leave any comments and or suggestions!

Go ahead and say it

