Posted in Life

I dare you to move

I’ve always considered myself to be an athletic person. I enjoy sports- nay: I revel in them. I was on the track and tennis teams in high school and part of a mixed lacrosse league for a few months before they split by gender. Unfortunately, there weren’t enough girls to continue with a team, but I was allowed to practice with the boys because according to the coach, I gave them a run for their money because I was faster and quicker than most of them, and not at all what they expected.

I love volleyball and basketball, and have apparently encouraged my buddy Shuyan in China to take up playing with a group of girls in Shanghai (remember when I played basketball over there? Check out the post Basketball at last). I can’t even begin to tell you how monumental this is, as girls over there don’t really play any kind of sport. 

And yet, despite my majestic abilities and prowess, I’ve never really been fond of working out or going to the gym. It’s too monotonous for me and lacks any considerable amount of adrenaline. I mostly know my limits (or lack thereof) and will walk on the treadmill or use an elliptical from time to time just to do some kind of exercise, but it’s not enough. I once jogged on the treadmill for 2.5 hours and only stopped because I was afraid to go longer. I’ve realized that while I have really good cardio endurance, I really lack upper body strength, which only gives me about an 85% chance of surviving the zombie apocalypse. Something must be done!

With that thought in my mind, I was walking one day and saw a girl doing pull ups/chin ups like a boss. I’ve decided that my new goal in life, considering I have probably a 2.5% chance of learning how to do a backflip, is to be able to do 15 pull ups/chin ups in a row as per Linda Hamilton in Terminator 2. And now, after one day of practice, I’m beginning to think that it may take me longer than initially expected… 2 weeks was probably a bit too unrealistic 😉

Wish me luck!

Author:

Enjoy my little descriptions of life and experiences, and feel free to leave any comments and or suggestions!

3 thoughts on “I dare you to move

  1. the matrix pic made me giggle. i have no doubt that you will surprise yourself with how much you can improve in upper body strength. try yoga stretches like downward dog and warrior poses to build flexibility and muscle tone. big guns dont always win, endurance and strength to keep moving take you all the way. stay at it and thank you for a fun read.

Go ahead and say it

